Since 2008, students enrolled in Career and Technical Education (CTE) classes at Yankton High School, who have gone above and beyond what is expected of them in the classroom, have been eligible to receive special recognition by being named BAMAAR Student of the Month.

The award, which received the name BAMAAR because it is sponsored by the building association, manufacturers association and area retailers, is an award given by Yankton High School in conjunction with RTEC.

For earning the honor, students have received a certificate, T-shirt and a host of cash and prizes donated by local businesses.

Josh Svatos, RTEC’s general manager, said the community response was positive from the beginning and that many businesses have continued to donate cash and prizes to recognize and reward the outstanding CTE students.

“Folks in Yankton realize the importance of Career and Tech Ed classes. These courses can be the foundation for these students’ future careers – and business gets that,” Svatos said. “Without Career and Tech Ed classes, we wouldn’t be able to expose students to the different types of careers that we have here in Yankton. It’s all about home growing our workforce.”

Dr. Wayne Kindle, principal at YHS, is pleased with the entire BAMAAR award process. “I can’t think of a better way to recognize a student for their accomplishments,” Kindle said. “This also shows our community and manufacturing employers the great talent we have at YHS.”
Students who are enrolled in CTE classes at YHS can be nominated for the award by their CTE instructors. A panel selects monthly winners throughout the school year, with one or more of those winners to be named BAMAAR Student(s) of the Year at a recognition ceremony that is held each spring.
Previous BAMAAR Students of the Month:

2012-2013 Winners:

  • Tom Kellen
  • Kristian Bilbrey
  • Tatum Draskovic
  • Austin Reining
2011-2012 Winners:
  • Ty Soulek
  • Adisa Formo
  • Sarah Ekeren*
  • Andrew Adam
  • Tytus Ivanich*
  • McKayla Bouska
  • Jenn Granflaten
  • Jordan Hauger
 2010-2011 Winners:
  • Cebrina Kruse
  • Jacob Hacecky
  • Jak Steinberg
  • Katie Brady
  • Ryan Shindler*
  • Sam Hummel
  • Ciara Andrus
  • Dylan Haas*
  • Tayler Dumke
  • Brook Woehl
  • Brendan Gramkow

2009-10 Winners:

  • Amy Klopstad
  • Mike Hunhoff
  • Tyler Lanphear
  • Britta True
  • Mason Horacek
  • Amy Johnson
  • Steven Hebda
  • Alex Heine
  • Allison Fejfar*
  • Brian VanDeRostyne*

2008-09 Winners:

  • Michael Hofer
  • Chris Barkl
  • Kayla Sherman
  • Jordan Mondragon
  • Adam Schramm
  • Paul Foss
  • Taylor Boeckman*

*denotes Students of the Year


Powered by WordPress | Designed by: WordPress Themes | Thanks to best wordpress themes, Find WordPress Themes and Themes Directory